Five students awarded NSF fellowships

Five UC Riverside students have been selected to receive a 2020 Graduate Research Fellowship from the National Science Foundation, or NSF.

The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees at accredited U.S. institutions. Fellows often become life-long leaders, achieving high levels of success in their academic and professional careers.

Each fellow receives a three-year annual stipend of $34,000 as well as a $12,000 cost-of-education allowance for tuition and fees, opportunities for international research and professional development, and the freedom to conduct research at any accredited U.S. institution of graduate education.

This year’s recipients of the highly competitive fellowship include two undergraduate students and three graduate students: Crysthal Alvarez(center), Dylan Enright(second to left), Nicholas Higgins(leftmost), Kayla  Rodriguez(second to right), Tyler Smith(rightmost).

Read more about the recipients! 

Honorable mentions
  • Lauren Gedlinske, evolutionary ecology and organismal biology
  • Jessica Trinh, microbiology
  • Alex Valenzuela, plant biology
  • Nathan Sy, environmental sciences
  • Molly Powers, chemistry
  • Jaimie Kenney, entomology
  • Jacob Elder, psychology
  • Christopher Drozd, plant pathology
  • Alexander Borowsky, plant biology